Chaque année, plus de 10 millions de jeunes Africains se battent pour entrer sur le marché du travail local.

Moins de 20% finiront par trouver un emploi décent. Les autres seront confrontés au chômage,
à la précarité des emplois informels et non décents, ou à la migration. Les jeunes Africains qui ont la chance d'aller à l'école obtiennent un diplôme de fin d'études secondaires, un baccalauréat, un ou deux masters, mais finissent très souvent avec un doctorat en tactiques de survie informelles, dans des camions de passeurs autour du Sahara, dans des camps honteux en Libye, ou encore plus tragiquement au fond de la Méditerranée.

Our founder, Yanick Kemayou,
was one of the many leaving their home behind. While he has been fortunate enough to study and then work at prestigious institutions in China and Europe, the initial problem which pushed him into migration has kept bugging him. So he decided to tackle the problem. With a new type of learning place. Empowering young Africans with knowledge actionable in their environments.

Faire en sorte que l'apprentissage fonctionne. Pour les jeunes. Pour les communautés.

Faqs

POURQUOI ?

Investir

L'apprentissage à l'ère écosystémique

L'Afrique est jeune et a un problème d'éducation. En Afrique, 50 % des jeunes en âge de suivre un enseignement secondaire supérieur ne sont pas scolarisés. Même pour ceux qui y ont accès, la qualité et la pertinence de l'éducation sont absentes. En fait, il existe un manque de compétences malgré la scolarisation, le fameux problème de l'école mais pas de l'apprentissage. Cela explique pourquoi le fait d'aller à l'école ou même à l'université en Afrique n'augmente souvent pas les chances de gagner décemment sa vie. 66 % des jeunes Africains occupent des emplois inadaptés. Il s'agit non seulement d'un gaspillage de potentiel et de talent, mais aussi d'une cause d'émigration massive ; les plus chanceux partent, car les réfugiés africains à l'étranger sont en moyenne plus instruits que leurs pairs lorsqu'ils quittent leur pays d'origine.

Kabakoo pense qu'en associant la haute technologie aux connaissances indigènes, nous pouvons doter les jeunes des compétences nécessaires pour imaginer et faire émerger des écosystèmes prospères.

Investir

Catalyser l'innovation localisée

Dans toute l'Afrique, la fonction de production du capital humain est brisée. Parce que l'éducation est déconnectée des contextes et des savoirs locaux.

Nous pouvons combler ce fossé en fusionnant les technologies de pointe avec les savoirs locaux et autochtones. En plus de faire fonctionner l'apprentissage en le reliant aux contextes locaux, cela nous fera avancer sur la voie de l'atténuation du changement climatique, de la durabilité et de la prospérité des écosystèmes, car les savoirs autochtones sont par nature intégratifs et holistiques.

Il est temps de réinitialiser l'éducation pour le plus grand réservoir de jeunes du monde.

#HighdigenousTech

Highdigenous

Every single year, more than 10 million young Africans struggle to enter the local job markets.

Less than 20% will end up in decent employment. The others will face unemployment,
the precariousness of informal and non-decent jobs, or migration. Young Africans lucky enough to go to school graduate from high school, get a B.A., go for one or even two Masters; but very often end up with a PhD in informal surviving tactics, in smugglers’ trucks around the Sahara, in shameful camps in Libya, or even more tragically at the bottom of the Mediterranean Sea.

Our founder, Yanick Kemayou,
was one of the many leaving their home behind. While he has been fortunate enough to study and then work at prestigious institutions in China and Europe, the initial problem which pushed him into migration has kept bugging him. So he decided to tackle the problem. With a new type of learning place. Empowering young Africans with knowledge actionable in their environments.

Making learning work. For the youths. For the communities.

Faqs

WHY ?

Invest

Learning for the ecosystemic era

Africa is young and has an education problem. 50% of youths of upper secondary school age in Africa are out of school. Even for those with access, quality and relevance of education are absent. In fact, there is a lack of competencies despite schooling, the infamous in-school-but-not-learning problem. This explains why going to school or even to university in Africa often does not increase one’s chances of making a decent living. 66 % of African youths are in mismatched jobs. This is not only a waste of potential and talent but also a cause for mass emigration; with the most fortunate leaving as African refugees abroad are on average more educated than their peers when they leave their home countries.

Kabakoo believes that by fusing high-tech to indigenous knowledge, we can equip youths with skills to imagine and make emerge thriving ecosystems.

Invest

Catalyzing localized innovation

Across Africa, the human capital production function is broken. Because education is disconnected from the local contexts and knowledges.

We can close the gap by fusing state-of-art tech with local and indigenous knowledges. In addition to making learning work by connecting it to the local contexts, this will bring us further on the paths towards climate change mitigation, sustainability, and thriving ecosystems as indigenous knowledges are integrative and holistic by nature.

It’s time for resetting education for the world’s largest pool of youths.

#HighdigenousTech

Highdigenous